Friday, Aug 23rd

You are here: Home

Team named for Golf Tournament

golfMULLET BAY—Twleve golfers have been named to the St. Maarten Golf Association team that will have home course advantage as they represent the Friendly Island in the Eastern Caribbean Golf Association Tournament October 2 to 4.
          Making the squad are Sidsel Jacobsen, Gitte Poulsen and Anne-Marie Bouillé in the Ladies division.
  Howard Hobgood, Jesus Rivera, Kit Lee and Stanley Samuel in the Men’s group. Sam Bashir, Steven Mix and Philippe Thevenet will represent in the Senior division and Richard Gibson and Keith Graham are the squads Super Seniors.
  The St. Maarten team was selected based on their five best scores from a total of nine monthly Medal Play tournaments organized by the SMGA.  Medal Play tournaments average 30 golfers.
    The two day 36 hole Eastern Caribbean Golf Association Tournament is organized each year by a different host-country. This year St. Maarten plays host to the eleven member countries including  Anguilla, Antigua-Barbuda, Barbados, Guadeloupe, Martinique, Montserrat, St. Croix, St. Kitts, St. Lucia, and St. Thomas.